San Diego, California

San Diego, California

All things San Diego, from the people, neighborhoods, trends and local news, to photographs, lists, concerts and events. You'll also find interesting stories about California.


Here Are California’s 3 Original Area Codes And The Cities That Used Them

Several cities in California continue to use the three original area codes for the state.

According to the California Public Utilities Commission, the three area codes are 916, 415, and 213.

The 916 area code serves the city of Sacramento, Lincoln, Loomis, Rocklin, and Roseville.

The 415 area code covers much the San Francisco Bay area and surrounding counties with the cities of Brisbane, Daly City, Belvedere, Corte Madera, Larkspur, Mill Valley, Fairfax, Novato, Ross, San Anselmo, San Rafael, Sausalito, and Tiburon.

The 213 area code used to serve all of Southern California before splitting up into several others that cover parts Los Angeles and San Diego counties.

The CPUC says “The area served by the 323 area code surrounds the region covered by the 213 area code is largely made up of the City of Los Angeles as well as neighboring cities and unincorporated portions of Los Angeles County.” 

Close-Up Of Telephone On Table

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content